Anyone who knows me knows that I’ve had a lot of jobs in my life–a mean a WHOLE BUNCH of jobs. I’ve worked in all sorts of different arenas and for most of my adult life I had multiple jobs at once.

In May of 2013, I embarked on a journey that is ever changing but always amazing. Being a firefighter is not the job I had in mind when I was younger. I wanted to be a lawyer. Instead, I tried my luck with IFD’s application process. The deeper I got into the prcocess, the more I wanted it.

Now, I’m approaching my 3rd year with the department and absolutely love my job. I answer the call to assist people at possibly their worst moment. Serving my community in such an intimate way is an honor. I’m thankful for the ability to do the work demanded of a firefighter–I’m thankful for my job.

-RCS3

